PPC Glossary of Terms
The world of PPC is filled with abbreviations and words that make no sense. So here’s a glossary of PPC terms to make it easier for you.
Ad Groups- An Ad group is the level after the campaign to further split up what you want to target. For example your campaign could be ‘Cameras’ and your ad group could be the different types of models you sell.
Ads- The ads that will appear on the search engines that you create.
Ad Scheduling- Running your campaigns to target your ads at certain times during the day.
AdRank- AdRank is how Google determines which Ads appear at the top of the search engine. AdRank is made up of a range of different factors including, Max CPC, Quality score, CTR, Landing page experience and more.
Avg CPC- Average cost per click- Not every click costs the same for an ad or a keyword so this is the average amount over a certain period of time.
Bid- The maximum amount an advertiser is willing to pay for a click.
Broad match- A match type that will show your ad for a wide range of related terms to your keyword.
Budget- A budget is what you want to limit your account costs to be. You can set up budgets for individual campaigns or share one across multiple campaigns.
Campaign- The starting point for PPC. You usually split up what you want to advertise for into campaigns within AdWords.
Clicks- The amount of clicks your ads receive or a certain keyword.
Conversion- A conversion is when a goal is completed. For example for an e-commerce site a conversion would be buying a product. For a service site a conversion could be sending in a contact form. Usually a piece of code must be added to use this feature.
Conversion Rate- The percentage of people who convert.
CPC- Cost per click- How much one click costs when someone clicks on your ad.
CPM- An alternative method to paying for a click. You pay for per 1000 impressions.
CTR- Click through rate- The percentage that shows how many people clicked on your ad after seeing it. For example if your ad had 100 impressions and 10 clicks, your Click Through Rate would be 10%.
Display URL- The web address that people will see on your advert.
Exact match- Within a PPC campaign you can set an exact match keyword. This means your ad will only appear when someone types the keyword in exactly the same.
Impressions- How many times your ad appears on a search engine whether some clicks on it or not.
Keywords – Words that are related to the product that you want to sell or the service that you want to provide.
Landing Page- The first page a consumer is sent to after clicking on an Ad.
Max CPC- Maximum Cost per click- This is the maximum amount of money that you want to spend for click on a specific keyword. You will set higher bids for keywords that are most relevant to your business. Search engines will only charge you for the highest you need to appear at the top. For example if your Max CPC was £1.00 but your competitor had a Max CPC of £0.49 you would only pay £0.50 for that click.
Negative keyword- A word or phrase added to your campaign that will stop your advert being shown if it is included in a search term.
PPC- Pay Per Click – The process of paying for clicks online.
Position- The position that your ad appears after someone has used a search term.
Phrase match- If the keyword chosen is used in the same order within a search term then your ad will be shown. A broader match type than exact match.
Quality Score- Keywords are given a quality score out of 10. The more relevant a keyword is to the ad and the landing page then the higher the quality score. If you have a higher quality score than a competing ad then you can appear higher than them even if your Max CPC is lower than theirs.
Reach- The amount of people exposed to the ad. Usually the number of impressions.
ROI- Return on Investment- A measurement that calculates the cost of a campaign with the success. Usually displayed as a percentage or ratio.
Here at Zelst we pride ourselves on our PPC ability. For more information about PPC and how we could help you and your business visit here.